Teenage & Adult Driver's Education
Taggart’s Basic Driver Education Program, licensed by the Georgia Department of Driver Services, consists of 30 hours of classroom instruction and six hours of private, individual, behind-the-wheel training. Historically, students enrolled in this program were teenagers. Now however, effective January 1, 2002, under O.C.G.A. 40-5-22, option (A), ANY person, TEENAGER or ADULT, must complete this driver education program prior to obtaining their initial driver’s license in Georgia.
Further, each applicant must also obtain 40 additional hours of driving experience, six hours of which must be at night. All or a portion of those 40 hours can be obtained at Taggart’s with hourly lessons or package programs. Parents of applicant’s under 18 years old will be required to sign an affidavit at the DDS attesting to program completion. Click here to view and print the “DDS Parental Guide” for more information on the special Class D teenage driver’s license requirements, affidavit and time log. (Requires the free Adobe Acrobat Reader.)
Under Georgia law, O.C.G.A. 33-9-42(c)(3), mandatory 10% reductions for three years in insurance premiums shall be available to licensed drivers under 25 years of age, if they have a clean driving record and successfully complete our driver education program. Also, effective January 1, 2001, under code section 48-7-29.5(a), if a dependent minor child of a Georgia taxpayer completes our driver education program, the taxpayer is entitled to a TAX CREDIT of $150 using Georgia Department of Revenue Form IND-CR.
With the insurance premium savings and the $150 tax credit, most parents will save close to the full driver education program tuition the first year their teenager obtains a driver’s license.
Under state law, O.C.G.A. 40-5-22, individuals under 18 years of age must complete a four-hour Alcohol and Drug Awareness Program, commonly referred to as ADAP, before a driver’s license can be issued. ADAP is included at no additional charge in our classroom program.
Students must attend class on time. Classroom grades will be based on attitude, participation and achievement. Students should attend each class with a notebook, and pen or pencil. Textbooks and all materials will be provided to each student by Taggart’s.
The six hours of private, behind-the-wheel training, which includes home pick-up, must be completed within 60 days after the classroom portion ends. Before actual instruction begins, the student is evaluated by their in-car instructor to determine what they need to learn to pass the DDS road test and to drive safely on our streets and highways.
All training vehicles are equipped with the exclusive Taggart’s two-steering wheel, two-brake and two-gas pedal system. Taggart’s has installed the two-steering wheel system since 1957 for two specific purposes. The first reason is the instructor can demonstrate from his/her side, saving valuable time, especially when the student is learning the maneuvers for the DDS road test. Learning these maneuvers quicker allows for more time to be spent in actual traffic conditions.
Also, because the instructor can take over at any time, our students are able to relax, learn faster and cover more material in the allotted time.
During the school year, Taggart’s Driver Education Programs are taught evenings and on the weekends. In the summer, and during Winter and Spring Breaks, the classes are scheduled during the day. Click on Class Schedule for actual dates, days, times and locations.