Insurance/Points Reduction Program
Taggart's Driver Improvement Clinic, licensed by the Georgia Department of Driver Services, offers the six-hour Defensive Driving Program often required by Georgia law and out of state courts. The following are reasons why an individual would be required or elect to take the course:
Many judges in the state of Georgia will dismiss or non-process a ticket for a moving violation if the offender completes the six-hour program. This works well for the driver because the ticket dismissal will result in no notation on their driver’s record with the state. Therefore insurance companies will not be aware of a ticket having been issued for a moving violation.
UNDER AGE 18 SUSPENSION
Effective January 1, 2002, drivers under 18 years of age who accumulate four or more points in a 12-month period will have their driving privileges suspended for six months. Completion of this six-hour Defensive Driving Program is required prior to restoration of driving privileges.
UNDER AGE 21 SUSPENSION
Individuals under 21 years old will have their driver’s license suspended for a minimum of six months for the conviction of ONE moving violation if the violation results in the assessment of four or more points. Most individuals affected by this law have been convicted of speeding 24 m.p.h. or more over the speed limit. Prior to restoration of their driving privileges, the driver must complete this six-hour DDS licensed course.
Under another Georgia law, drivers may take the six-hour course, once every five years, and reduce up to seven points off their driving record. The Department of Motor Vehicle Safety will often notify a driver of the availability of this program, prior to accumulating enough points to lose their driver’s license.
Individuals 25 years of age or older, who have a clean driving record for the previous three years and take the six-hour program shall be eligible, pursuant to O.C.G.A. 33-9-42, to obtain not less than a 10% discount on their automobile insurance premium. This discount is valid for the next three years. Often couples, who are the two named drivers on an insurance policy, will take this program together to qualify for the joint insurance discount.
Many private companies, both in Georgia and throughout the country, have a requirement that their employees, who operate a company vehicle or their own vehicle on behalf of their company, take this course once a year or once every three3 years to meet company policy.
If a Georgia driver accumulates 15 points within 24 months, the Department of Driver Services will suspend their driving privileges until the completion of the six-hour program. If a licensed driver accumulates 15 points within 24 months for a second time, within a five-year period, then the completion of the same six-hour program is required.
FINE REDUCTION / NO POINTS
Under a specific Georgia law, some courts will allow an offender to complete the course, which will result in a 20% reduction of the fine and then no points are noted on the driver’s license record.
Payment is due the first day of class by cash (exact change), money order, Visa, MasterCard or American Express (no Discover). Debit cards accepted.
Please arrive 30 minutes early on the first day of class in order to read, fill out, and pay for your class contract.
Class starts at exactly 6:30 p.m. for weekday classes and 9:00 a.m. for Saturday classes.
NO LATE ADMISSION TO CLASSES