In-Car Driving Lessons
Our lessons are set up by the hour, with a recommended two-hour minimum. The time of the lesson begins when your instructor picks you up at home or another location. During the first lesson the instructor will be teaching and evaluating your driving. At the completion of this lesson, the instructor will present a recommendation to you, outlining approximately how many lessons you will need to enable you to pass the Georgia Department of Driver Services road test and become a safe, confident and defensive driver.
On January 1, 2002, the requirements for ANY person, TEENAGER or ADULT, to obtain an initial Georgia driver’s license changed. Now, under O.C.G.A. 40-5-22, option (B), ALL applicants must complete a minimum of 40 hours of driving experience, six hours of which must be at night. All or a portion of those 40 hours can be obtained at Taggart’s with hourly lessons or package programs. Parents of applicants under 18 years old will be required to sign an affidavit at the Department of Driver Services attesting that these requirements have been completed. Individuals over 18 years of age can self-certify by signing the required affidavit at the DDS.
You may pay for each hourly lesson as you take it, by personal check, made payable to Taggart’s Driving School or you may pay in cash and the instructor will give you a receipt. We also accept debit, Visa, Master Card and American Express.
Taggart’s also offers various package plans, which save you money and assist you in completing the requirements necessary to obtain a Georgia driver’s license. You can elect to take a package program at the time of enrollment or anytime during your lessons, by advising your instructor. Click on the Tuition & Fees PDF link above for rate/package information.
Our instructors are available six days a week, Monday through Saturday. You can schedule a lesson anytime between 8:00 a.m. until 8:00 p.m. Night driving experience, which is required under state law, is also available.
Under a special state law, Taggart’s students do not need a learner’s permit to take lessons with our school. In fact, the instructor will provide study materials, at no additional charge, during the first lesson. Then the student can read the information to prepare for the written test, which is required prior to taking the road test for a driver’s license.
All Taggart’s training vehicles are equipped with two steering wheels, two brakes and two gas pedals. For over 40 years, we have installed the two-steering wheel system for two reasons. First is the safety factor. Because the instructor can take over at any time, our students relax and learn faster. Also, the extra steering wheel is a great teaching tool, because the instructor can demonstrate from his/her side, without stopping the car to change seats. It saves a lot of time. It is especially important when you are learning the maneuvers for the DDS road test, such as parallel parking and weaving through the cones.
Studies show that students who take lessons in cars equipped with the two-steering wheel system obtain their driver’s license with half the number of lessons compared to learning in a car that has only an extra brake.