3 Locations Across Metro Atlanta
Welcome to Taggart's Driving School
**FREE Six-Hour Defensive Driving Class
For Parents of 30 & 6 Driver Education Program Students**
Become a better role model. Call for Details!!
(One free Six-Hour Class for one parent per student. Successful completion of class provides a DDS Completion Certificate for a 10% auto insurance premium reduction, which is required by state law. To receive the premium reduction, parent must have a clean driving record for past three years. The premium reduction is valid for three years. Parent must enroll and complete class within 60 days of student’s first day of 30-Hour Driver’s Education Class.)
Effective January 15, 2007, Taggart's Driving School in cooperation with AAA Auto Club South, along with the nationally recognized leader in on-line education, The American Safety Council, now offer a 30-hour "virtual classroom," licensed by the State of Georgia Department of Driver Services, meeting the requirements under Joshua's Law.
Teenage Classes & Driving Lessons and Adult Driving Lessons
Taggart’s Driving School, licensed by the Georgia Department of Driver Services, operates Teenage and Adult Driver Education Programs. These school-based course programs are offered in classes in both public and private schools in the state of Georgia and in our own school classroom locations throughout Metropolitan Atlanta, Georgia.
On January 1, 2002, the requirements changed for anyone under age 17 to obtain an initial Georgia driver’s license. Now, under O.C.G.A. 40-5-22, option (A), ALL under age 17 applicants must complete a driver education program consisting of a minimum of 30 hours of classroom and 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training. Our program meets the requirements for driver education under that code section.
As an alternative to (A), mentioned above, option (B) requires a signed affidavit stating the applicant has accumulated a total of at least 40 hours of supervised driving experience, including at least 6 hours of driving at night. To assist individuals in completing the requirements under option (B), Taggart’s Driving School provides private, in-car lessons, with home pick-up, featuring training vehicles with our exclusive two-steering wheel, two-brake and two-gas pedal system.
Our exclusive two-steering wheel, two-brake and two-gas pedal systems provides a safe vehicle to instruct drivers with limited or no experience learning to drive on Georgia's streets and highways. Our licensed instructors use our two steering wheel system to safely aide the student and ease their learning process.
The DriveABLE On-Road Evaluation by Taggart's Driving School
The DriveABLE On-Road Evaluation (DORE) is a scientifically developed on-road evaluation that tests specifically for decline in the cognitive skills needed for safe driving. Unlike other on-road tests, the DORE tests for cognitive impairment and not bad-habit errors that are common amongst experienced drivers. State-licensed Taggart's instructors/examiners have received special training and are authorized to provide the DriveABLE On-Road Evaluation.
Your group did an assessment of my father’s driving ability several years ago. Not only did it provide accurate information for my father’s doctor, it also let his family know that he really should not be behind the wheel. We were aware of his inability but could not convince him on our own. – Barb W.
Taggart’s Driving School - DUI, Alcohol or Drug Risk Reduction Program clinics are licensed by the Georgia Department of Driver Services to provide assessments and the 20-hour risk reduction school, class programs required under Georgia law for the restoration of a driver's license. Individuals required to enroll in this course have had their driver’s license suspended or revoked for DUI, DWI, drug offenses or underage possession and/or purchase of alcohol or drugs. These school programs also satisfy most alcohol and/or drug classes ordered by Georgia courts.
Defensive Driving/Insurance Reduction
Taggart’s Driving School - Driver Improvement Clinics, licensed by the Georgia Department of Driver Services, teach the 6-hour traffic school, Defensive Driving Course. This program is often required for drivers license restoration, ticket dismissal for both Georgia and out-of-state courts and points reduction. Under Georgia law, drivers under 21 years of age are required to complete this traffic school, class program if they have been convicted of driving 24 plus m.p.h. above the speed limit. Drivers under 18 years of age who accumulate four or more points in a 12-month period are also required to take this program for license restoration.
Taggart’s Driving School - Driver Improvement Clinics can also be taken by individuals 25 years of age or older, who have a clean driving record for the past three years, in order to obtain a 10% reduction in insurance rates.
Classroom and Driving School Service Areas
Taggart's Driving School locations offer standard programs and clinics for Defensive Driving; DUI traffic school, DWI, and drug offenses, including Assessments; and, Teenage and Adult driving classes, all satisfying licensing requirements in the State of Georgia. Service areas include all metro areas: Atlanta, Georgia, including Buckhead, Chamblee, Doraville, Smyrna, Marietta, Sandy Springs, Dunwoody, Norcross and the counties of DeKalb, Gwinnett, Fulton, Cobb, Cherokee, Clayton, Forsyth, Rockdale, Henry, Douglas, Paulding, Walton, and Fayette, plus Athens areas.