Under Georgia law, students taking lessons with Taggart's Driving School are not required to have a learner's permit. However, this only applies when the student is in one of our Department of Driver Services' (DDS) licensed training cars taking instruction from one of our licensed instructors. Thus, an individual is required by law to have a learner's permit, if they are practicing in a vehicle not licensed for driving instruction by DDS.
For students who wish to practice in other vehicles and want to obtain a Georgia learner's permit, we offer a "learner's permit service." Our licensed instructor will pick you up at home, work or another convenient location, prepare you to answer the questions on the DDS learner's permit test and provide round trip transportation to the DDS testing location. Allow approximately three hours to complete this service. Click on the"Tuition" page for our service fee.
The test will consist of 20 questions about traffic laws, rules and regulations and 20 questions covering traffic signs. The fee for a learner's permit by law is $10.00, which is the applicant's responsibility. DDS Customer Service Centers accept cash, money orders, checks, credit cards and debit cards issued with a MasterCard or Visa logo for payment of fees.
The permit is valid for 2 years.
Click on link below for required documentation: